SAPPA Project

A SERVICE FOR THE PARTNERS OF A PERSON WITH APHASIA

When caring for a person with aphasia, loved ones risk feeling helpless, stressed, and frustrated. Difficulty with communicating due to aphasia makes their task all the more difficult.  The SAPPA Project began at the AQPA in 2013, with the sustained support of Claire Croteau, Ph.D. professor at the University of Montreal’s School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. The goal of this service is to bring support to the caregivers of seniors with aphasia and to encourage the adoption of effective and personalized communication strategies with their loved ones. A positive evaluation of these services was achieved thanks to a research project subsidized by the REPAR-OPHQ and the touching testimonies of families that were served, which push us to expand and offer our services more broadly. SAPPA receives a grant from APPUI Montréal for the caregivers of the elderly.

Please visit our Facebook page: « SAPPA – Service aux proches d’une personne aphasique» (French only*). You will find advice and resources that are intended primarily for the caregivers of people with aphasia

What constitutes this project?

With the caregiver, the coordinator evaluates their needs and those of their family. Afterwards, we offer :
  • the services of a Social Worker in an individual or group setting (participation in a support group)
  • meetings with a Speech-Language Pathologist trained in the SAPPA approach that take place in a dyad (caregiver-person with aphasia) at home or on the AQPA premises, in groups with other families, as well as via telepractice.
The services are delivered in French or English according to preference. Likewise, the families decide with the Social Worker and the Speech-Language Pathologist the desired scheduling of meetings

What are the eligibility criteria?

SAPPA is open to all caregivers of a senior/person living with aphasia on the island of Montreal. Unfortunately we cannot offer our services to residents off of the island of Montreal.

How do I obtain services?

SAPPA is free; the person with aphasia and their caregiver must become members of the AQPA to benefit. SAPPA is subsidized by APPUI Montréal for caregivers of the elderly. For more information or to sign up a person with aphasia and their caregiver, please contact the Association Québécoise des personnes aphasiques (AQPA) at (514) 277-5678, extension 6, or by email: sappa@aphasie.ca.

Notre équipe

Claire Croteau, Speech-Language Pathologist, Professor, & Researcher
Claire Croteau is a speech-language pathologist and associate professor at the School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology at the University of Montreal. She is particularly interested in her research in communication in families where a member has aphasia. She has contributed since 2013 to the development and support of SAPPA.
Kalyna Franko, Speech-Language Pathologist & Coordinator
Speech-language pathologist since 2015 and coordinator of SAPPA, Kalyna also works in hospitals with people who have acquired communication disorders. At SAPPA, she strives to help people with aphasia and their partners to improve their communication at home and in the community.
Maureen Stafford, Social Worker

Certified with a Master’s of Social Work from the University of Toronto, Maureen Stafford had a career at the Douglas Mental Health University Institute. It was as a supervisor of internships at the McGill University School of Social Work that she was brought to the AQPA in 2011, happy to join the team in place. As soon as the Service for partners of people with aphasia (SAPPA) began, she was associated, bringing to it her rich experience in mental health and psychosocial rehabilitation, as well as her training in family therapy and in communication adapted to people with aphasia. In addition to providing emotional and often very concrete support to people with aphasia who are involved in complex situations, she also animates a support group for the caregivers, both Anglophone and Francophone. Maureen finds a sense of happiness at work from the courage, determination, and the optimism of people with aphasia and their families. She is the ideal person for the job, because her legendary big smile calls to the wise, friendly, and inner strength of our members.

Geneviève Mercier, Speech-Language Pathologist
Graduate from UdeM’s School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology in 2001, Geneviève has worked as a speech-language pathologist for more than 15 years with pediatric clientele. She has accumulated experience in different work environments (rehabilitation, hospital, home service in private practice, university clinic) and is actively involved in the clinical training of students at UdeM. Her collaboration with SAPPA represents a return to her first passion: aphasia and its numerous consequences on the person and their entourage.
Judith Tchen, Speech-Language Pathologist
As a Speech-Language Pathologist working primarily in hospital settings with people who have dysphagia (difficulty swallowing) and aphasia, Judith finds that SAPPA is an invaluable service in the continuum of stroke care.
Alexandra Tessier, Speech-Language Pathologist
Alexandra joined the SAPPA team in 2015 to work with people with aphasia and their partners by supporting them in their daily communication. In parallel, Alexandra is pursuing doctoral studies. Her work at SAPPA and thesis project are motivated by the desire to achieve a more inclusive society for people with communication disorders.
Anabelle Rousseau, Speech-Language Pathologist
Since 2016, Anabelle has worked as a speech-language pathologist at the CSDM with primary school students. She became interested in conversation therapy for people with aphasia and their partners in 2013, as a research assistant. In January 2017, she joined the SAPPA team as a speech-language pathologist. It is a pleasure for her to be able to apply what she does in research with dyads in order to improve their quality of life.
Dominique Barma-Hamel, Speech-Language Pathologist
Graduate from UdeM’s School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology in 2014, Dominique specializes in adolescent and adult clientele. She joined the SAPPA team in 2016. “What motivates me to work at SAPPA is allowing people with aphasia and their partners to rediscover enjoyment in communicating, even if the words are difficult to find.».
Laurence Landry-Fortin, Speech-Language Pathologist
Since 2016, Laurence has primarily been involved in working with children who have language disorders and their families, in early childhood centres (CPE) and in CLSCs. In November 2016, she joined the SAPPA team. She enjoys working with people with aphasia and their partners to find pleasure in communicating and consequently, to witness the improvement in their quality of life.
Béatrice Dalard Chay, Speech-Language Pathologist
Since graduating from Paris VI Pitié Salpétrière in 1996, Béatrice has specialized in neurologically-based communication disorders. She has worked at the AQPA since her arrival in Montreal and has worked for SAPPA since October 2017. She believes that working in a dyad with the caregiver is one of the important elements in improving the confidence in the process of communication and promoting the social participation of a person with aphasia.
Françoise Rollin, Executive Director of the AQPA
Francoise Rollin is an occupational therapist with a Master’s in Public Affairs and a Certificate in Corporate Governance from the University of Laval (2012). She combines a wealth of experience in both clinical work and management, having been the president of the Order of Occupational Therapists of Quebec for 20 years. She has also served as a deputy local commissioner of complaints and quality at the CHUM. For the last three years, she has worked as a healthcare accreditation specialist for the Conseil uébécois d’agrément. She also serves on the board of directors of a number of administrative councils, namely the Conseil inter-professionnel du Québec, Parkinson Québec, Vision sur l’art Québec and Quebec Easter Seals. She has also served as president of the board of the Constance Lethbridge Rehabilitation Center. Currently, Françoise Rollin is an independent member (expertise in rehabilitation) on the board of the CISSS Montérégie-Centre and serves on the board of the Order of Dentists of Quebec as a representative of the Office des professions du Québec. In December, 2015, Francoise Rollin joined the AQPA as the Executive Director. She is motivated by the AQPA’s mission and is committed to improving the quality of life and social integration of people with aphasia.

Resources

Visit ou Facebook page : « SAPPA – Service aux proches d’une personne aphasique » (French only). You will find advices, tips and resources which target caregivers of persons with aphasia. We also invite you to look, on our Youtube channel, to short videos created by our speech-language pathologists: « SAPPA project »
Contact APPUI Montreal for information about more caregiver services:

Caregiver Support is a free and confidential phone consultation, information and referral service for the caregivers of older adults, as well as friends and family, practitioners and health care professionals.

CONTACT US
1 855 852-7784

info-aidant@lappui.org

*For an English language Facebook group offering information and support for caregivers of people with aphasia, please visit the Aphasia Recovery Connection website :https://www.facebook.com/aphasiaARC/.

Projet SAPPA

UN SERVICE AUX PROCHES D’UNE PERSONNE APHASIQUE (SAPPA)

Prendre soin d’une personne aphasique aînée risque d’entrainer des sentiments d’impuissance, de stress et de frustration chez le proche aidant. Les difficultés à communiquer causées par l’aphasie rendent leur tâche encore plus ardue. Le projet SAPPA a débuté à l’Association québécoise des personnes aphasiques (AQPA) en 2013, avec la participation soutenue de Claire Croteau, Ph. D., professeure à l’École d’orthophonie et d’audiologie de l’Université de Montréal. Le but du service est d’apporter aux aidants d’aînés aphasiques du soutien et de favoriser l’adoption de stratégies de communication efficaces et personnalisées avec leur proche.  Une évaluation positive de ces services, réalisée grâce à un projet de recherche subventionné par le REPAR-OPHQ, et les témoignages très touchants de familles qui ont été desservies, nous poussent à développer et à faire connaître ce service. Le SAPPA reçoit une subvention de L’APPUI Montréal pour les proches aidants d’aînés.

AncreEn quoi consiste ce projet?

La coordonnatrice évaluera avec l’aidant ses besoins et ceux de sa famille. Par la suite, on vous proposera :

·         Les services d’une travailleuse sociale, soit en mode individuel ou collectif (participation à un groupe de soutien d’aidants);

·         Des rencontres avec une orthophoniste qui auront lieu en dyade (aidant-aidé aphasique) soit à votre domicile, soit dans les locaux de l’AQPA, en groupe avec d’autres familles, ou encore au moyen de la télé-orthophonie.

Les services sont dispensés en français ou en anglais selon votre préférence. De même, vous déciderez avec la travailleuse sociale et l’orthophoniste du rythme des rencontres souhaitées.

Quels sont les critères d’admissibilité?

Le SAPPA est ouvert à tout proche aidant vivant avec une personne/ainé aphasique sur l’île de Montréal. Malheureusement, nous ne pouvons offrir ce service aux résidents hors de l’île de Montréal.

Comment obtenir ce service?

Le SAPPA est gratuit; vous devez vous et votre proche aphasique être membres de l’AQPA pour en bénéficier (25$/an). Le SAPPA reçoit une subvention de L’APPUI – Montréal pour les proches aidants d’aînés. Pour plus de renseignements ou pour vous inscrire, contactez l’Association québécoise des personnes aphasiques (AQPA) au(514) 277-5678, poste 6, ou par courriel:  sappa@aphasie.ca.

Notre équipe

Claire Croteau, professeure et chercheuse 

Claire Croteau est orthophoniste et professeure agrégée à l’École d’orthophonie et audiologie de l’Université de Montréal. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement dans ses recherches à la communication dans les familles dont un membre présente de l’aphasie. Elle a contribué depuis 2013 au développement et au soutien du SAPPA.

Kalyna Franko, orthophoniste & coordonnatrice

Orthophoniste depuis 2015 et coordonnatrice du SAPPA, Kalyna Franko travaille aussi dans les hôpitaux avec des personnes ayant des troubles de communication acquis. Au SAPPA, elle contribue à aider  les personnes aphasiques et leurs proches à améliorer leur communication à domicile et dans la communauté.

Maureen Stafford, travailleuse sociale

Détentrice d’une maîtrise en service social de l’Université de Toronto, Maureen Stafford a fait carrière à l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale Douglas. C’est à titre de superviseure de stages de l’École de service social de l’Université McGill qu’elle est venue à l’AQPA en 2011, heureuse de joindre l’équipe en place. Aussitôt que démarra le Service  aux proches d’une personne aphasique (SAPPA), elle y fut associée, y apportant sa riche expérience en santé mentale et en réadaptation psychosociale, ainsi que ses formations en thérapie familiale et en communication adaptée à la personne aphasique. En plus de procurer un soutien émotionnel et souvent très concret aux personnes aphasiques aux prises avec des situations complexes, elle anime les groupes de soutien des proches, anglophones comme francophones. Maureen trouve dans le courage, la détermination et l’optimisme des membres et de leur famille la source de son bonheur au travail.  C’est la personne idéale pour l’emploi, car son sourire légendaire accompagne une approche qui fait appel à la sagesse, à l’amabilité et à la force intérieure des membres.

Geneviève Mercier, orthophoniste

Graduée en 2001 de l’École d’orthophonie et d’audiologie (ÉOA) de l’Université de Montréal (UdeM), Geneviève Mercier travaille comme orthophoniste depuis plus de 15 ans auprès de la clientèle pédiatrique. Elle cumule de l’expérience dans différents milieux de travail (centre de réadaptation, centre hospitalier, services à domicile en pratique privée, clinique universitaire) et s’implique activement dans la formation clinique des étudiants de l’ÉOA de l’UdeM. Sa collaboration avec le SAPPA constitue un retour à ses premières passions : l’aphasie et ses nombreuses conséquences sur la personne et son entourage.

Judith Tchen, orthophoniste

Orthophoniste œuvrant principalement dans des milieux hospitaliers auprès des personnes ayant la dysphagie (difficulté de déglutition) et l’aphasie, Judith Tchen trouve que SAPPA est un service indispensable dans le continuum des soins de l’AVC.

Alexandra Tessier, orthophoniste

Alexandra  Tessier s’est jointe à l’équipe du SAPPA en 2015 pour travailler avec les personnes aphasiques et leurs proches en les soutenant dans leur communication quotidienne. Parallèlement, Alexandra mène des études doctorales. Son travail au SAPPA ainsi que son projet de thèse sont motivés par le souhait de concrétiser une société plus inclusive pour les personnes ayant un trouble de communication.

Anabelle Rousseau, orthophoniste

Depuis 2016, Anabelle Rousseau  travaille comme orthophoniste à la Commission scolaire de Montréal (CSDM) avec des enfants du primaire. Elle a commencé à s’intéresser à la thérapie conversationnelle pour les personnes aphasiques et leurs proches en 2013, comme assistante de recherche. A joint  l’équipe du SAPPA en tant qu’orthophoniste en janvier 2017. C’est un plaisir pour elle de pouvoir appliquer ce qu’elle fait en recherche avec des dyades afin d’améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Dominique Barma-Hamel, orthophoniste 

Graduée de l’École d’orthophonie et d’audiologie de l’Université de Montréal en 2014, Dominique Barma-Hamel a développé une expertise auprès des clientèles  adolescentes et adultes. Elle s’est jointe à l’équipe du SAPPA en 2016. «Ce qui me motive à travailler au SAPPA, c’est de permettre aux personnes aphasiques et leurs proches de retrouver le plaisir de la communication, même si les mots demeurent difficiles à trouver».

Laurence Landry-Fortin, orthophoniste 

Depuis 2016, Laurence Landry-Fortin travaille en temps qu’orthophoniste en petite enfance. Elle s’est principalement impliquée auprès des enfants présentant des difficultés langagières et de leur famille, tant en CPE qu’en CLSC. En novembre 2016, elle se joint à l’équipe SAPPA. Il lui fait plaisir d’accompagner les personnes ayant de l’aphasie et leur proche à retrouver le plaisir dans la communication et d’être témoin, par le fait même, de l’amélioration de leur qualité de vie.

Béatrice Dalard Chay, orthophoniste 

Béatrice Dalard Chay est orthophoniste depuis 1996 et a développé une expertise auprès des personnes aphasiques à Paris. Elle s’investit comme bénévole à l’AQPA depuis son arrivée au Canada et travaille au SAPPA depuis octobre 2017. Elle croit que le travail en dyade avec l’aidant est un des éléments importants pour améliorer la confiance dans le processus de communication et favoriser la participation sociale de la personne aphasique

Françoise Rollin, directrice générale de l’AQPA

Françoise Rollin est ergothérapeute et détient une maîtrise en administration publique, ainsi qu’un certificat universitaire en gouvernance de sociétés, complété en 2012 au Collège des administrateurs de sociétés de l’Université Laval. Elle possède une longue expérience à titre de clinicienne et de gestionnaire de niveau supérieur dans le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux (réseau) ainsi qu’à titre de présidente et présidente-directrice générale de l’Ordre des ergothérapeutes du Québec. Elle a occupé, antérieurement, la fonction de commissaire locale adjointe aux plaintes et à la qualité des services du CHUM. Depuis plus de trois ans, elle effectue des visites d’agrément dans des établissements du réseau, au profit du Conseil québécois d’agrément.
À titre d’administratrice, Françoise Rollin a siégé à de nombreux conseils d’administration (CA) du secteur associatif et communautaire (Conseil interprofessionnel du Québec, Parkinson Québec, Vision sur l’art Québec, Société des timbres de Pâques) et a présidé le CA d’un établissement public du réseau, le Centre de réadaptation Constance-Lethbridge. Françoise Rollin est présentement administratrice indépendante (expertise en réadaptation) au CA du CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre ainsi qu’administratrice nommée par l’Office des professions du Québec au CA de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec

Ressources

Facebook SAPPA

Contactez APPUI Montréal  pour des informations sur d’autres services  pour les proches aidants:

Info-aidant est un service téléphonique professionnel, confidentiel et gratuit qui s’adresse aux proches aidants d’aînés et à leur entourage, aux intervenants et aux professionnels de la santé.

APPELEZ-NOUS
1 855 852-7784

info-aidant@lappui.org