Home

Founded in 1982, the AQPA was the first association for people with aphasia to emerge in Quebec. The founders sought to provide a service beyond rehabilitation for people with aphasia, where they could break their isolation and continue to develop their autonomy.

Slider

Since July 2016, AQPA is located at the Centre des services communautaires du Monastère, 4450, St-Hubert Street, local 425, Montreal (Québec). H2J 2W9. If you come by metro or adapted transportation, please use the ground floor entrance on 4449, Berri.

The AQPA is supported by its Foundation, the Aphasia House Foundation.

Providing a supportive organization for people with aphasia to promote their development and social integration.

Objectives:
To offer new forms of activities that will enable people with aphasia to lead active lives and be citizens in their own right.

  • To provide information on the services and resources available.
  • To sensitize governing authorities and the public about the needs of people with aphasia.
  • To promote, protect and develop the material, cultural and social rights of people with aphasia.
  • To offer support to the Caregivers of people with aphasia.

Since its beginning in 1982, the AQPA has continually strived to better understand and help people with aphasia. We are proud of its 37 year history of consciousness-raising and get togethers, with members, volunteers, students and relatives. A deep richness has grown from sharing lived experiences and inspiring each other with our creative ideas.

The AQPA was built slowly, struggled with hardships due to lack of funding, found benefactors and then began receiving regular support from the PSOC (Support Program to Community Organizations). Numerous donors have come to trust and support the “Aphasia Cause”. Thanks to them, the AQPA was able to overcome difficulties inherent to organizations that depend as much upon the dedication and good will of individuals as they do upon monetary support.

HERE (Association across the years) we remark on the important milestones of the past thirty-seven years. They have not all been glorious, some have been extremely laborious, but most have been happy, creative and innovative. This history chronicles the AQPA’s family album and allows us to remember pivotal moments in the development of the AQPA of today: a flourishing organization of interest to researchers, students, relatives and volunteers, all of whom are united in their generosity of heart and spirit.

The determination and hope of a select few are the source of this longevity. The Founders and Directors of the institutes that strove for the creation of this Association are:

Dr Yves Jetté and Dr André-Roch Lecours, assisted by Speech Language Pathologists from the Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal most notably, Michelyne Hubert.

Successive directors found partners, building the present structure which consists of both francophone and anglophone members, as well as a large number of allophones. The AQPA is thus a reflection of Montreal, open to all cultures and eager to meet the needs of its members.

Although our website is still being developed, we are nonetheless proud to present the following pictures of our members, a reflection of cherished memories. These pictures, among others, will be integrated into a video that will become available during the year.

An association such as ours functions best with the help of several people who form a team. The administration relies on a board of directors consisting of nine people, four of whom are aphasic and five are relatives or supporters. During its history, the AQPA has been presided over by nine people with aphasia.

As stated in the general rules, administrators may serve terms up to a maximum of two years, with elections taking place once a year at the Annual General Meeting.

Facilitating English and French workshops, directing the choir, support, information and coordination are the responsibility of the staff, working in unison with the Director General. Organigram

Accueil

Fondée en 1982, L’AQPA a été la première association de personnes aphasiques à voir le jour au Québec. Elle offre un lieu au-delà des services de réadaptation, où il est possible de poursuivre le développement de son autonomie, et de briser l’isolement.

Slider

L’AQPA est maintenant située au Centre des services communautaires du Monastère, 4450, rue Saint-Hubert, à Montréal (Québec). H2J 2W9. Les bureaux et activités se tiennent au local 425.  Cependant, nous incitons les personnes qui viennent par métro ou en transport adapté à emprunter l’entrée du rez-de-chaussée située 4449 Berri car elle est adaptée aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

L’AQPA est soutenue par sa Fondation dont l’objectif est de donner aux personnes aphasiques une maison, un milieu stable et adapté grâce à des collectes de fonds. 

Mission

Offrir aux personnes aphasiques un lieu d’appartenance et un soutien qui favorisent leur épanouissement et leur intégration sociale.

Objectifs:
  • Offrir aux personnes aphasiques de nouvelles formes d’activités qui leur permettront de mener une vie active et d’être des citoyens et citoyennes à part entière.
  • Offrir de l’information sur les services et ressources disponibles. Sensibiliser les autorités et la population aux besoins des personnes aphasiques.
  • Promouvoir, protéger et développer les intérêts matériels, culturels et sociaux des personnes aphasiques.
  • Offrir du soutien aux proches des personnes aphasiques.
Historique

Depuis sa fondation en janvier 1982,  l’AQPA a connu une suite ininterrompue d’initiatives  pour aider ses membres et leur famille à mieux se comprendre et se faire comprendre, se rejoindre, s’entraider.  Trente-cinq ans de sensibilisation du public sous diverses formes. Trente-cinq années de rencontres inédites entre les membres, les bénévoles, les stagiaires et les proches. Richesses partagées suivant les élans du coeur et l’inspiration créatrice des uns et des autres.

L’AQPA s’est construite lentement, a connu les périls du sous-financement, s’est trouvé des bienfaiteurs puis a reçu le soutien régulier du Programme de soutien aux organismes communautaires (PSOC). De nombreux donateurs  lui ont fait confiance et ont soutenu la cause de l’aphasie ». Grâce à eux, l’AQPA a surmonté toutes les difficultés inhérentes aux organismes qui dépendent autant de la conviction des gens que de l’argent.

Nous rappelons ICI (Association au fil des ans) les étapes marquantes des trente-cinq années de l’AQPA, marquées par la résilience, la créativité et l’innovation.  Cet historique constitue en quelque sorte l’album de famille de l’AQPA et permet aux uns et aux autres de se rappeler les moments charnières qui ont conduit l’AQPA  à ce qu’elle est aujourd’hui : un organisme bien vivant, qui intéresse aussi bien les chercheurs que les étudiants, les proches que les bénévoles, tous réunis par la générosité du coeur et de l’esprit.

La conviction et l’espoir portés par certaines personnalités sont à la source de cette pérennité. Ce sont d’abord les fondateurs et les directeurs des instituts qui ont permis la naissance de l’Association : le Dr Yves Jetté et le Dr André-Roch Lecours, assistés des orthophonistes de l’Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal, dont Michelyne Hubert tout particulièrement.

Les directeurs qui se sont succédé ont trouvé des partenaires, édifiant ainsi la structure actuelle qui compte autant de membres francophones,anglophones et un grand nombre d’allophones. L’AQPA est ainsi à l’image de Montréal, ouverte aux cultures, aux technologies, aux besoins de ses membres.

Ressources Humaines

Une association comme la nôtre fonctionne grâce à plusieurs personnes qui forment une équipe. L’administration repose sur un conseil d’administration composé de neuf personnes dont cinq sont aphasiques et quatre sont des proches ou des sympathisants. Au cours de son histoire, l’AQPA a été présidée par neuf personnes aphasiques.

Suivant les règlements généraux, le mandat des administrateurs vient à échéance aux deux ans, et leur élection a lieu une fois par année lors de l’assemblée générale annuelle.
L’animation des ateliers anglophones et francophones, la direction de la chorale, le soutien, l’information et la coordination sont assumées par la permanence qui agit en synergie avec la directrice générale.